• Look out for the new Website Relaunch, Call Centre and Intranet
  • MKLM Councillor's in training

New Mayor of Moses Kotane Local Municipality


New Mayor for Moses Kotane Local Municipality

Mogwase – The New Mayor, Speaker and Whip of the Moses Kotane Local Municipality were elected unopposed at the extra-ordinary meeting of Council to inaugurate new councillors at the council chamber.

Inauguration of new councillors came almost two weeks after the local government elections that were held on 03 August 2016.

Proceedings of the council meeting included swearing in of 66 new councillors who took oath of office by Magistrate Mmamabolo.  Two apologies were received by Council secretariat. The proceedings of Council were chaired by Acting Municipal Manager, Pogiso Shikwane in line with the Structures Act.

Speaker Councilor Sipho Vava

Clr Sipho Vava was elected as the Speaker of Council and immediately took over by chairing the proceedings of Council as the new Speaker.

In his welcome speech, Clr Vava thanked all for bestowing honour on him to chair the council. “Thanks for the confidence, I am aware of the obligation and I pledge to serve the chamber and people with the renewed mandate. Our people need us to respect each other, humble ourselves, work together, provide services, and be accountable with emphasis on service delivery and to fight corruption,” said Clr Vava.

He further thanked the efforts done by the outgoing Mayor Fetsang Mokati, TROIKA and councillors who have worked for the people of Moses Kotane Local Municipality. Clr Vava joined the municipality in 2006 as ward 20 councillor serving Tlokweng, Vrede and Seshibitswe villages. He was appointed as the Chairperson of the first Municipal Public Accounts Committee since 2011 until the end of council term. Read more…